ISPS Handa World Super 6 Betting Preview

If you are a Golf connoisseur, there is no dearth of travel these days. The action takes you to various corners of the world that introduce various courses and keeps you glued to the action. And of course, there is the added benefit of going through various formats. One such unique tournament is happening down under in Perth – the ISPS Handa World Super 6. This tournament started in 2012, but all the tournaments so far have been in stroke play event.

This year’s event will be in a different format – more on that later. This tournament which was already co-sanctioned by the European Tour and the PGA Tour of Australasia will be sanctioned by the Asian Tour also from this year. The prize money of Australian $ 1.75 million makes it one of the richest golfing events in Australia.

A unique format

The World Super 6 Perth this year will combine 54 holes of traditional stroke play across the first three days with a six-hole knockout match play format for the final round action. There will two cuts made to the field – the first implemented after the second round (36 holes) while the second cut will be made after the third round (54 holes).

The top-8 players after the third round of action will be automatically seeded going into the second match play round. The six-hole match play will determine the winner unless there are ties which will be decided by playing the new ‘Shootout Hole’ – a purpose built 90-metre hole built specifically for this.

The host course for this event will be the Lake Karrinyup Country Club in Perth. The course has a rich history that dates back to 1928. The design was provided by Alex Russell, the well-known Australian partner of the famed architect Allister Mackenzie.

Coming to the course, the most challenging holes will have to be the ones which run adjacent to the lake Karrinyup. The 201-metre hole on the eighth that plays out to par-3 is the signature hole – carrying the lake onto a raised green.

The past and the present

The first tournament was played five years ago in 2012 and the inaugural winner was Bo Van Pelt of the United States of America. Interestingly, the four editions so far have witnessed four different winners. After Pelt, it was the turn of Jin Jeong (South Korea), Thorbjorn Olesen (Denmark) and Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa) winning the title in the subsequent editions.

It will be a new challenge this year, though, as all those players have won the title over a stroke play event while this year will see a different format.

Reed’s absence a big blow

The action for this year was supposed to be led by the world number three Patrick Reed but the American was a last minute withdrawal owing to an injury. That takes a little bit of sheen off the field as the accomplished star is a well-known crowd puller.

But take nothing away from the rest of the field which will be led by the Swedish number nine Alex Noren who is one of the most in-form players in the world today. His brilliant form has already seen him gather four wins on European Tour this year.

Keep an eye on the local favourite Brett Rumford who will be looking to make the most of his home-town advantage. There are many other Asian players who should be top of your to-keep-an-eye list.

Players to watch

Noren will be the top pick but it remains to be seen if it lives up to expectations. Keep an eye on the 31-year-old Chinese Wi Ashun and the top Asian stars – S.S.P. Chawrasia (India) and Pavit Tangkamoprasert (Thailand).